She Was Humbled…

20130318-224822

My oldest is 22, she lives on her own, she’s a college graduate, she’s the best big sister my boys could ever ask for. She’s always been a good daughter to me. The only thing she lacks is faith in the Lord. She knows He exists and is very real, but she thinks….well, quite frankly, I don’t know what she thinks. 

Anyway, today she joined us (me and my 10 year old son) to church service. We were both excited because she’s always working or has one excuse or another why she can’t make it. Pastor was delivering the Word, which I believe was a personal message to her, as it may have been to others as well. Pastor went on to say in his sermon how the devil was a liar and will use everything and anything to bring us down and how we must not allow this to happen. My son leaned over and said, “My sister really needs to hear this.” I nodded in agreement. 

Next, came altar call. Pastor started off with, “If you don’t know Him as your Lord and Savior, I invite you to come up and receive Him”. He continues and says, “If you have been drowning, not in water, but if you feel you can only stay afloat so much longer, He’s calling you today.” While this is happening, I’m worshipping with my eyes closed and just worshipping on His greatness and I’m saying, “Please God, touch her today, fill her up with You, she needs You, I, her mother, am asking this of You.” My 10 year old grabs my elbow and I open my eyes and I see her, my daughter, on her way up to the altar. My son raises his hands and tears started rolling down his cheeks. I too was moved in that moment. My daughter, who has always been shy, was standing there with her head bowed, crying. In that moment I knew I did not need to ask anything of Him. He drew her there today. He was waiting for her. As He waits for all of us. 

I love my God! My Father whose everlasting love knows no bounds. He is limitless. All you have to do is grab on to Him. Come on! He is waiting!!

1 Peter 5:6-7, Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, 7 casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

All the bitter weary ways
Endless striving day by day
You barely have the strength to pray
In the valley low

And how hard your fight has been
How deep the pain within
Wounds that no one else has seen
Hurts too much to show

All the doubt you’re standing in between
And all the weight that brings you to your knees

[Chorus:]
He knows
He knows
Every hurt and every sting
He has walked the suffering
He knows
He knows
Let your burdens come undone
Lift your eyes up to the one
Who knows
He knows
He knows

We may faint and we may sink
Feel the pain and near the brink
But the dark begins to shrink
When you find the one who knows

The chains of doubt that held you in between
one by one are starting to break free

[Chorus]

Every time you feel forsaken
Every time that you feel alone
He is near to the brokenhearted
Every tear
He knows
He knows

He Knows – Jeremy Camp

22 comments

  1. This story truly blessed me because of what l have been going through with my children, and how l have been praying for them. I am believing any day now that they too are going to do the same thing as this daughter did; allow God into their hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Truly beautiful. God says in His word that once we’re saved, He will save the rest of our family. His timing and having faith. Amen!

    Praise God! A beautiful testimony indeed.

    Hugs and blessings, Emma

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

