Prayer & Fasting

image

How many of you fast? How often? How long? I myself only started a few months ago. My Lil big bro Carlos would tell me it’s important to be able to draw nearer to God. We are able to break chains through prayer and fasting. Click on the link to read an article I found.
https://www.guideposts.org/inspiration/inspirational-stories/spiritual-benefits-of-fasting?nopaging=1

Daniel 9:3
3 Then I set my face toward the Lord God to make request by prayer and supplications, with fasting, sackcloth, and ashes.

10 comments

  1. I don’t as much as maybe I should. Only a couple times a year maybe? But I get this very close connection to Jesus when I do. One that is similar if I spend lots of time in just worshiping him. It definitely is one way to draw me closer to the Spirit.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hear you..as long as you’re doing it and know why you’re doing it. I, myself started small, once a week. I’m going to build up from there.
      And it’s the best feeling to draw closer to Him. 😊❤👍☝

      Liked by 2 people

      1. What are some typical reasons you fast for? Daniel fasted when he saw the great war from the end times and Jesus said one type of fasting was for casting out certain types of demons. I’ll usually fast with others in agreement against certain evils, like human trafficking.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. At first for my older son..to break chains of hatred, brokenness, etc. Now for both my older children..he’s 19, she’s 22. And I’ve fasted with my brother in Christ Carlos so he could show me because I’d never done it before.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. powerful…thanks for the article too! My own experience is that some victories only come through prayer and fasting…I’ve fasted from ‘media’ ‘TV’ and followed progressive fasting, easing into full fasts as the Holy Spirit leads…and God ALWAYS ministers powerfully to us. I often think of how our Lord Jesus fasted 40 days in the wilderness…May we walk in His footsteps and trust Him to send angels also to minister to us alongside the victory He gives through fasting of a greater overcoming of the world, the old sinful nature and the devil! “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you…” Blessings & prayers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

