With My Eyes Wide Open Book Review

_200_360_Book.1925.cover

With My Eyes Wide Open is about the author, Brian “Head” Welch, who is one of  the founders of the nu-metal group Korn. He tells of his life after he decided to leave the group Korn to raise his daughter full time. His struggles after he came to Christ, but shows and displays his faith throughout the book. Especially through his struggles.

I really enjoyed this book. I read it in 2 days. I could completely identify with Brian and his struggles with raising his daughter alone. The story is told in the first person and in almost a journal written style. He shares his every thought, good and bad. This book was, for me, exceptional. It made me smile, laugh, and cry. I could really feel his pain that he felt. I could also feel his joy when he spoke of the Holy Spirit. I know he’s had a lot of criticism because of where he came from (Korn), what he did, and how he looks. As you can see on the book cover, he’s not your average looking Joe. But this is why I loved this book, he shows you how Jesus loves you no matter what you have done, where you have been, and most of all no matter what you look like. He has a mission for Brian and I will be praying for him the whole way!

I recommend this book if you want to see and read about God’s saving grace, if you want to jump out of your seat and cheer, sit back and think about your own redemption, or simply want to know Brian and his struggles. I highly recommend this book. Two thumbs up!!!!

blb_badge_lg

I was sent this complimentary copy of the book from BookLook Bloggers for an honest review.

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

